About Us

About Us


The CSSC was first formed in October of 2010 by Sylvain Rheault of the University of Regina. The members of the current Executive Committee, elected in August 2020, are:

  • Keith Friedlander (Olds College), President
  • Brandon Christopher (University of Winnipeg), Secretary-Treasurer
  • Erika Chung (Ryerson University), VP Communications (English)
  • Christian Reyns-Chikuma (University of Alberta), VP Communications (French)
  • Natalie Garceau, VP Web Administration

The CSSC held its first conference in May of 2011 as part of the New Narrative conference, at the University of Toronto.

One thought on “About Us

  1. Hello. My name is Colin Upton and I have been making comics (mostly small press mini-comics) in Vancouver for over 30 years, mostly but not exclusively autobiograpical. I’ve also read and occcasionally written about the history of comics. I’d like to send to you a story I did on university campus culture that was recently published by The Dalhousie Review but I don’t know how. I have it in PDF. You might be amused by it.
    PS The Comicshop is now closed, rumour is because of gross mismangament by an absentee owner.

Comments are closed.